Today is the day!

I have struggled. I can tell you, it has not been easy. The next couple of weeks won’t be easy either.

not. at. all.

I quit smoking today.

I have been thinking about it, and trying to cut down and bla bla bla for weeks now. But have done nothing. I have quit one hour and snuck out for a smoke the next.

My partner is trying to cut down and my friend is trying to quit (with Chantix). So I’ve been surrounded by “quitting attitudes”, but i just haven’t been able to get on board!

On my way to work this morning, I realized I was done. Finished.

It just came over me, a joy, a feeling of relief. It’s over, I’m now and ex-smoker. I know you’re thinking I’ve lost it, but, when a person quits smoking, to truly quit, and fight the fight that’s ahead, you have to be behind it mentally. For me, I have to know in my heart that today is the last day. That when I get off work tonight (I don’t smoke at work, as a matter of fact, no one at the office even knows I smoke) I won’t light up as soon as I’m out of sight of my office. I WILL have an insane nico fit, but I’m ready for that. I am an ex smoker, so for a while, that is to be expected.

Finally, the mental break I’ve needed to put these things down again.

I have to get back to work. I will be using this sight to vent and share my joys of quitting with you, if you care to read.

I am using Why Quit for support, and signing up on the forums at Quit Smoking soon.

Thanks for reading and well, wish me luck!!!

Jojo

Leave a Reply

