New year, new leaf!

Hi Everyone!

I turned over a new leaf (again) a couple of months ago, but haven’t been blogging about it. Now it’s time to get things caught up!

I don’t plan on posting a quit meter very often, so I’ll catch you up, then leave it for special occasions.
1 year, 7 months and 15 days. This one is in the bag!

I have been posting a weekly diet post on Facebook, but I’m bringing that back here.

I didn’t weigh-in last week or post last week, because I wanted to take a break. I think it allowed for a little reflection on the holidays and what is going on with my body.

Sugar, sugar, sugar. Sugar is bad. Duh! I ate a lot of sweets over the holidays, always my downfall, but I have honestly never reflected on how it effects me. I think for every bite of chocolate came hours of craving for more. During the weeks I’ve been “good” I have had few cravings, and a normal hunger response. The first few days after my last “sweets fest” saw intense cravings for sweets and was hungry all the time.
Now that I have reasserted my eating plan, I have felt a lot better with less cravings.

Lots have folks have asked me why I am dieting. First, selective clothing choices can hide lots of extra poundage, and I was heavier than I looked. Second, one of my 2014 goals is to maximize my health. In 2013, I was diagnosed with hypertension. Already dealing with Fibromyalgia and degenerative joint disease, the high blood pressure diagnosis was a clear signal that my body needs a change. For 2014, working with my doctor, I intend to remove as many of the contributing factors to these problems as I can. A friend described it very well, “Take the blood pressure drugs and eat the mashed potatoes and gravy, or stop eating the mashed potatoes and gravy so you can stop taking the drugs.”

I have been reading a lot about foods and am slowing getting rid of the foods that cause or contribute to inflammation and high blood pressure. I have also decided to add three foods to my daily diet. These foods seem to have amazing benefits for the body, and I plan on reaping some of those.

I won’t list all the benefits here, Google is much better at providing this info than I am, and even a quick search for each of these will be an eye opener.
The first, coconut everything. I buy whole coconut and toast my own and drink the fresh coconut water inside. Coconut oil, extra virgin cold pressed, is helpful inside and out.
Second is Kefir. Yep, your bodies ability to process nutrients is just as important as the nutrients themselves.
Last, and this is the one with the biggest bang for the buck, Chia seeds. This one is good for everything, and may be a big weapon in the blood pressure fight if all the hype is true.

So, that is where I’m starting the new year. Better food and more exercise for better health in 2014!

I’m 1.4 pounds lighter than last weigh-in, and just a little smarter (I hope). Who is with me? Let’s make this year amazing!

Jo

One thought on “New year, new leaf!

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year, 2 months late | The Next Minute…

Leave a Reply

