Apples anyone?

Apple and pear body shapes

This is me, the apple shaped one on the left. My apple wasn’t that big, but it was growing. I was 30 pounds overweight (now 20 lbs overweight).

My doctors didn’t tell my I had Metabolic Syndrome, but I did.

Metabolic syndrome is a cluster of conditions — increased blood pressure (yes, been taking BP meds for years), high blood sugar, (99 consistently, always pre-diebetic), excess body fat around the waist, (the very first place I gain weight) and abnormal cholesterol or triglyceride levels (my total was always great, but by “bad” was always high).

This is helpful to know because it explains why at 55 and menopausal I have been unable to lose any weight. Week after week I starved myself on a DASH diet and exercised as much as I could, only to lose nothing.

With my Keto Diet, I am starting to see progress. My BP is coming down and my energy may be increasing (still holding out for more!) I have not had a migraine since I started July 6th.

Those few things are enough to keep me motivated!!!

Leave a Reply

