For the One I Love

Have you seen this post on Facebook?

“Please, in honor of someone who is fighting Lupus, MS, Crone’s, Scleroderma, Ulcerative Colitis, Fibromyalgia, Sarcoidosis, Lymphedema, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Fibromyalgia, Ankylosing Spondylitis, Hepatitis, Diabetes, Celiac, Sarcoidosis, Hashimotos Thyroiditis, PBC,CIDP, Aplastic Anemia. Please copy and paste, do not share.”

Well, this is a new one. This is the one I would like to see break the internet.

Some will never understand the struggle, but those who love you will try.

When my wife asked the doctor, “When will she get well?” and the doctor answered, “Never”, she was heartbroken, but she has been unflagging in her support of me on good days and bad. She has endured the effects of different diets, various exercises, yoga, Pilates, supplements, expensive vitamins and every other thing anyone has ever mentioned that might help me. She has sat through doctors tests and exams, and treatments and done absolutely every chore, managing work and home and kid and me as the new thing we are trying worked, or didn’t work, or worse, made me sicker. She has sat by my side every. single. time, unwavering.

And me? I have tried every single day to get well from a disease I can’t get well from. Sometimes I just get tired.

When I get tired, she is there. Every day my spouse encourages me to run if I need to run, rest if I need to rest, and cry if I need to cry, and hold my heart through it all.

Let this post be for her. For her unfailing dedication, for her love and support, for her tolerance and sacrifice.

Tag the person who is always there for you to say Thank You.

J

Leave a Reply

